Pier 1 was used as a parking lot, with miscellaneous office and retail uses in the Bulkhead Building. Finger piers like Pier 1 had become dilapidated and obsolete and, with the 1953 construction of the Embarcadero Freeway, the once vibrant Port of San Francisco was cut off from its lifeblood, the City of San Francisco.
Michael R. Corbett, Port City:The History and Transformation of the Port of San Francisco,1848-2010. Page 120.
Courtesy Anne Rand Library and Archives, International Longshore and Warehouse Union
Photo Credit: Michael R. Corbett, Port City: The History and Transformation of the Port of San Francisco, 1848-2010. Page 170.
San Francisco Historical Society, San Francisco Public Library (San Francisco Freeways, Embarcadero)